The Matthew Challenge: A bunch of verses because I fell behind.

Standard

Ok, before we get into this. I know I’m behind. I suck. I got lazy, not even halfway through the challenge. But here I am- up and at ’em! Get your game face on, it’s time to dig into Matthew again ❤

Chapter 17 is talking about the Transfiguration. While I can only freaking imagine what it was like to be Peter, James and John in these moments, this is what I’ve gotten from this passage today:

First of all, “This is my Son, whom I love; with him I am well pleased..” how I long to hear those words some day. I hope that I am serving my King the way He plans for me to. It’s such a reminder to me that God sees the good in us. He sees beauty. He sees value. Sometimes, I need reminders like that.

Next step- disciples fall to ground. I MEAN i totally would have done the exact same thing. I would freak. out.
and Jesus is all”Don’t be afraid.” its just me in my floaty, sun-shiny face and and white clothed. WHAT. SURE THING JESUS, I’LL JUST STAND HERE WHILE YOU..

and then he’s like “hey, keep this to yourself.”
okay um HOW.


 

Skip to chapter 18, starting in verse 21. Forgiveness. Ugh. It can be such a tough one. But.. not here. It’s cut and dry. There’s no cap to the amount of forgiveness we should extend to someone, if we are living like Jesus. Yes. That means you. You who has been rejected and put in tough spots, when  you didn’t ask to be placed there. You who has been labeled the enemy, when you are only filling the gap and loving endlessly. You. With your hurts. Your pains. Forgive your trespassers.

The world wants you to hold grudges. The world wants you to be angry and bitter. My sweet friend- you are not of this world. The world does not line up with the gospel. The world lines up with Satan’s plan for you. His hope for destruction. Do not fall into his traps, precious one. Seek forgiveness.

Leave a Reply

