Book Review: Restless

Standard

51jzh18+twL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg jennie.jpg

I haven’t really done a book review since I was in 7th grade and had braces and no friends, so bare with me.

But this book really resonated with me. I’ve probably never underlined so many powerful statements in one single book before. I’m supposed to let a friend borrow it but I don’t think I can let it go.restless-jennie-allen-quote-download

I purchased this book thinking it was going to be filled with encouragement for mamas who are downtrodden or stuck in a rut. I was right, but on such a different level.

I expected to hear “you got this, you’re facing normal, acceptable, parenting things” but it was more of “God has SO MUCH MORE FOR YOU THAN THIS GRIEF! GO GET IT!”

restless-by-jennie-allen-quote-4

Here’s some of my favorite lines:

[The things that make this calling weighty are the very things that keep my head down in it. Thorns push us to need God, and as I make my way through my thorns, I remember my humanity, my insecurity, my fear, my sin. I rustle through them all, knowing that through all this unbelief and fear and selfishness, he is on the other side.]

[We were built for this. What begins as a burden and obligation becomes the thing that fills our restless souls.

In the movie, Amazing Grace, William Pitt’s character races through a field with Wilberforce and says to him, “Why is it you only feel the thorns in your feet when you stop running.” When we run for God and for people, we forget for just a moment about ourselves, and it feels amazing. Nothing makes a soul sicker than too much time given to itself. ]

[We do not belong to the one who shrinks back, we belong to the one who moved through his blood and sweat and despair and fear and reluctance in the garden of Gethsemane and said, ‘Not my will, but yours be done. I belong to you and I will live for you and die for you.’ He walked headfirst into his death. So fight with me. ]

[Our souls are restless until they rest in God.]

When Jennie says “restless” she means restless in Christ.

restless-you-were-made-for-more-400x400

So stop what you’re doing and go purchase this book directly from Amazon.com  (I bought mine USED for less than $2, sorry Jennie…)

View the Book Trailer and fall in love with this short little book of hope.

She guides you through studies and encourages you to lay it all down, within the same pages (I was too scared to write my things down, since I was shipping mine to a friend when I finished it), but KNOW the exercises are so great and could be so useful in a small women’s group.

If you’re ordering, let me know by leaving a comment below.
Have you read this book before? Or anything else by Jennie? I’m so geeked to have discovered her, I love her already and I’m only one book in ❤

 

Happy reading, y’all!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Restless

Leave a Reply

