Ignorance is bliss, or is it?

Standard

There was a time I was hanging out with some people from work on a Saturday night. “Where are the kids at?” one of them asked me, “They are at their mom’s house until tomorrow.” — “Ohhhhhhhhh, so you aren’t a REAL mom then.” Um. Excuse me? Who the hell says something like that to someone? I take into consideration that this person is not a parent before I answered, because as I have found out, people just aren’t educated about step families and blended families. But that doesn’t mean it still doesn’t hurt.

#blendedfamilyseries

Not the Average Mama

ignorance

When I became a stepmom I knew there would be a lot of hurdles to over come and obstacles I would need to navigate around. What I didn’t think would happen was the ignorant comments that come out of strangers and even friend’s mouths.

dearlord.jpg

ig·no·rant -adjective -

>> lacking knowledge or awareness in general; uneducated or unsophisticated.

“he was told constantly that he was ignorant and stupid”

>> lacking knowledge, information, or awareness about something in particular.

“they were ignorant of astronomy”

>> discourteous or rude.

“this ignorant, pin-brained receptionist”

That is the dictionary definition of the word ignorant.

Let me give you a play by play of how a conversation might go with a fellow mom (FM) on the playground.

FM: Aren’t they cute, are those two yours?

Me: Yup, every inch of them.

FM: Wow, you look great for having two kids.

Me:…

View original post 539 more words

One thought on “Ignorance is bliss, or is it?

  1. Likely if I had a penny for every thoughtless thing I’ve said, I’d be well-to-do by now. (blush) A lot of times it’s an “off the cuff” remark. Sometimes, though, people do actually mean to be nasty. Personal grudges, or if they “don’t believe in divorce” and don’t think you have any right to be in this man’s life, etc.

    A friend of mine was forced to give her baby up for adoption. No one knows about her past, but she has a real hard time at Mother’s Day. Situations like, “Hey ladies, here are pink roses for all the mothers and yellow ones for those who haven’t had children.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

