7 Things I Didn’t Know I Was Getting Into As A Stepmom

Standard

unnamed2

7 Things I Didn’t Know I Was Getting Into as a Stepmom
-Jessica Valentino, Not The Average Mama

I’ve been a stepmom for the past six years. There were a lot of things I thought I “knew” marrying a man with kids from a previous marriage. I “knew” I wouldn’t always come first, or even second at times. I “knew” I would have to be careful about what I say around the kids (impressionable minds). I “knew” I would have ex-wife issues to deal with and I “knew” I would have more responsibilities now that two little kids would be in my life for half of the week. I thought that was the gist of it and everything else would just work out, but then things would get tough and emotionally draining. That’s when I would hear, “You knew what you were signing up for when you married a man with kids.”

 

But did I really know? Does any stepmom really know what they are signing up for? Would anyone ever say that to a first time biological mom? Of course they knew what they were getting into when they got pregnant, but not every baby and not every step family is the same. Sometimes things happen later on that you never saw coming.

 

Read More…

Leave a Reply

