Getting Busy

Standard

20161107_154350.jpg

This is a really terrible picture of my planner from last month. If you’re not able to tell from all of the scribbles, arrows, highlighter marks, pinned notes, stickers and more. Last month was busy. In fact, life has been busy for too long.

I recently graduated with my Bachelors in Business Administration and expected to have down-time, and to be bored in the extra hours I should have had free up post-graduation. It seems that, if possible, life has gotten even busier. Like the things that I wasn’t quite able to tackle when I was a full time student, part time employee (35 hours/week) with another side job that rears its head at the most inconvenient times, volunteer and having kids at the house- they came out of the woodwork! In full force! I can’t even pinpoint what these things are- it seems like I’m doing the same things i always have done.

This weekend was very similar to the past 9 weeks. Wake up early, work, come home for lunch, work more, come home after dark. Sleep for 6 hours, wake up and repeat. and now i am feeling it. Busy-ness.png

I am feeling the aches of not sleeping well. I feel the lingering cold/bronchitis/death sickness that I had for 3 weeks.. never leaving. I feel fatigued. I feel distance from my husband who is just as overworked as I am and craves recoup time, while I crave his time.

We have been challenged with the command of Sabbath days. I used to practice them regularly, it was simple when I lived alone and only had to take care of myself. It was simple when I could manipulate my coursework to fit into the needs of a sabbath day. Now, the day we have “off” is usually replaced with side work. It’s hard to turn down when we are attempting to pay off some student debt and purchase a new house. Even if we don’t have side work, we have to play catch up at our house. Sundays are usually filled with meetings or work days after church- we often are gone from 9am-5pm, even on Sunday.

I’m challenged with prioritizing what is important. If I look at my schedule, it’s honestly difficult to find something that isn’t worth my time. Everything I do is either work related or spiritual growth. I hardly have social outings that aren’t tailored toward ministry or outreach.  How do we find a balance? How do we say that “extra work” is too much work?

How do we find balances? Sometimes, we come home and we are too tired to even try to talk over top of the television- which is really only on as something mindless to help us wind down from the day. We eat dinner together 99% of the time, I can probably count on one hand how many times we have not sat together and ate (unless one of us isn’t home). We really value that time.

Here’s a regular weekly schedule. Please remember to factor in house cleaning- laundry, dishes, mopping, sweeping, dusting, trash collecting, organizing, dog bathing/grooming, etc. I try to attempt at least 2 of these things/day so that I’m not overwhelmed by it at the end of the week.

So here I am, maybe this is just a confession or maybe it’s me taking a real step toward cutting some out of my life.

How do you practice the Sabbath day? How do you make your time Holy time, like we are commanded?

 

Bet the title of this made you think this post was going to be about something different, huh. 😉

 

Busy 1

Busy 2

3 thoughts on “Getting Busy

    • thestepmomma

      thanks, i love it too! a lot of people (me included sometimes) feel like if there isn’t any thing happening or their schedule isn’t jam-packed, they’re not productive or able to accomplish anything or yes, lazy. it’s sad that we have to fill every milisecond of each day to feel like we are of worth.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

